Skip to main content

Jason Metcalfe Recognized

Jason Metcalfe Recognized

Congratulations to Jason Metcalfe who has been appointed Bowman and Gordon Gray Distinguished Term Professor in the College of Arts & Sciences!

The Bowman and Gordon Gray Professorships support excellence in undergraduate teaching at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. They were established in 1980 – though funding was available to appoint the first Bowman and Gordon Gray Professors in 1979 – by Gordon Gray and the estate of his brother, Bowman Gray Jr.

Bernard Gray, UNC Class of 1972 and Gordon’s son, significantly enhanced the professorships with a gift in 1999 that doubled the annual salary supplement, extended the award period from three to five years, provided an annual fund for research support and included a highly valued sabbatical. They remain today among the University’s most esteemed awards for outstanding undergraduate teaching.

These professorships bestow special recognition on College of Arts and Sciences faculty members for their distinguished undergraduate teaching. Any tenured associate or full professor in the College is eligible for the five-year, non-renewable professorship. To date, more than 70 faculty members have been honored as Bowman and Gordon Gray Professors.