Skip to main content

Mathematics Awards & Medals

The Alfred T. Brauer Award

Annual award given to the undergraduate who is judged by the Mathematics Department to have demonstrated the greatest ability and shown the greatest promise for achievement in the fields of algebra or number theory.

Named for the late Professor Alfred T. Brauer, a distinguished member of the Mathematics faculty, who established the Mathematics Library, named in his honor, and developed its collection to become one of the best in the South.

Alfred Brauer had a profound impact on the Mathematics Department at UNC. Born in Germany, he held a position at the University of Berlin until the advent of the Nazis during the 1930s. He fled the country in 1939, accepting Hermann Weyl’s invitation to the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton. He came to North Carolina in 1942, teaching here until his retirement in 1966.

During this time he founded the Mathematics and Physics Library, using his knowledge and expertise to establish a superb collection. In appreciation for this effort the library was named for him in 1976. Alfred Brauer was honored by the University with the award of a Kenan professorship in 1959, the Tanner Award for excellence in undergraduate teaching in 1965, and an honorary doctor of legal letters degree in 1972. He has also received honors from outside the University, including the Oak Ridge Science Award and the G.W.F. Hegel Medal from the University of Berlin. In 1975 an Alfred T. Brauer Instructorship was created at Wake Forest University, where he taught after his retirement from the University of North Carolina. The Alfred Brauer Fund was established by the Department of Mathematics in 1984 on the occasion of his ninetieth birthday.

Alfred T. Brauer

04/09/1894 – 12/23/1985

Richard Scott Hallyburton

Current Award Recipient

Past Recipients

2021 | Lilyahna Gergle

2020 | Cooper Faile

2019 | Shengtan Mao

2018 | Scott Emmons

2017 | Samuel DeHority

2016 | Jonathan M. Aycock

2015 | Michael J. Greenberg

2014 | Shreyas Samir Tikare

2013 | Marshall Ward Lochbaum

2012 | Ryan Timothy Kirk

2011 | Matthew Blair Hernandez

2010 | Gregory Liang Howard

2009 | Bevin Maultsby & Daniel James Wright

2008 | Nicholas Cook & Clay Thompson

2007 | Miranda Ross

2006 | Crystal A. Zeager

2005 | Kevin Alexander McGoff

2004 | Russ Thompson

2003 | Andrew W. Smith

2002 | John Philip Hobach

2001 | Heather M. Yandow

2000 | David McClendon

1999 | Mandy Rae Schleifer

1998 | Nelia S. Charalambous & Sanjai Kumar Gupta

1997 | Robert David Guy

1996 | Kristie Lehmann Karlof

1995 | Craig Theodore Syndal

1994 | Brent Hetherwick

1993 | Akira Negi

1992 | Tate Andrew Certain

1991 | Cynthia Ann Dy

1990 |

1989 | Gillian Zoe Elston

1988 | Gobert Glenn Etter, Jr.& Gillian Zoe Elston

1987 | Andrew Christopher Martin

1986 | Adam Frederick Falk

1985 | Chun Wing Sze

1984 | Nathan Blackburn Smyth