Skip to main content

The Linker Award

The J. Burton Linker Fund, established by J. Burton Linker, Jr. ’44 of Chapel Hill and Edward M. Linker of Martinsville, Va., in honor of UNC-CH Mathematics Professor J. Burton Linker, provides for the annual Linker Award. The Linker Award is given by the Department to the graduate student who has shown the greatest effectiveness as a teacher of undergraduate mathematics courses. Recipients of the Linker Award also receive a significant cash award at the Departmental Commencement following each spring semester. The recipients of the award for the past 19 awards are listed below.

Student and Year

Andrea Overbay and Reed Ogrosky (2013)
Rachel Louise Bayless (2012)
Emily Laura Braley (2011)
Ellen Gasparovic (2010)
Nathan Pennington (2009)


For a list of winners before 2009, click here.


In addition, UNC Mathematics graduate students are often the recipients of University teaching awards.